2021 LTA Tennis Awards – Wiltshire Winners

Each year, the LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of people across the County and Wiltshire Tennis are delighted to announce this year’s winners.

The awards were presented by Wiltshire Tennis President, Sir Geoffrey Owen, at the Wiltshire Tennis AGM.

Winners of the club award were Trowbridge Westbourne Tennis Club who have had a fantastic year resulting in an increase of 38% in their full membership.

Sam Hull from Marshfield and Biddestone TC won the Coach of the Year award. Sam’s tremendous coaching skills and knowledge has made him one of the most committed and respected coaches in the County.

The Volunteer of the year award was awarded to Sal Etherington from Riverside TC. Sal is a committted and hardworking volunteer and has made a tremendous contribution to the development of her club over the past year.  

The competition of the year award was presented to The Minety Mixed Open Tournament who raised over £2,000 for the Nelson Trust charity.

Neil Allen from Swindon Tennis Centre picked up 2 awards. Neil was presented with the Official of the Year Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. Neil has been an active and fantastic ambassador for tennis in the County for well over 30 years and has been a huge inspiration to so many people. He has dedicated many hours to tennis at both junior, senior, club. regional and national levels encouraging players of all ages and abilities to get involved thanks to his deep-rooted passion for the sport.

An additional award for the Player of the Year was presented to Giles Hussey who upon leaving College in America, has embarked on a professional tennis career and has already won his first professional title in Mexico and currently has a career high world ranking of 875.

Liz Bissett, Wiltshire Tennis Secretary and LTA Councillor commented: “The standard of the entries gets higher and higher each year and the judging panel had a very tough job in selecting the winners. I would like to congratulate all of the winners on their fantastic achievements this year”.

Congratulations to all our Award Winners!

Club of the Year – Trowbridge Westbourne TC
Coach of the Year – Sam Hull
Volunteer of the Year – Sal Etherington
Competition of the Year – Andy Dickinson receiving the Award on behalf of The Minety Mixed Open Competition
Official of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Awards – Neil Allen
Scroll to Top